Tags

, , ,

This has been a trying few days.  On Saturday we had a birthday party for my son and it was great.  I spend most of the day eating raw cauliflower, red pepper, cucumber and etc.  I did break down and have one cupcake that my wife made for the party so I could honestly tell her that they were exceptional.

Surprising to myself and I’m sure to many others I managed to stay away from the pizza.  We purchased a huge square pizza from one of our favorite pizza restaurants to go along with the veggies, a significant amount of Middle Eastern food and some pulled roast beef that was cooked in the crock pot.  Pizza was one of those foods I had a really hard time staying away from.  It has an addiction for me that I couldn’t seem to break.  Now, I don’t have the craving for it I use to have.  Do to my good behavior my wife suggested I have a square slice of pizza for my treat.  On the food plan you do get treat days and I haven’t really taken advantage of any.  I did eat the square and decided I didn’t really care for it.  I’m not sure what the prior pull was but since then I have not touched any of the pizza that we brought home for leftovers.

On the downside I ate Halloween candy last night.  I found some of the sour candy very tempting and I indulged in a little bit.  I think for the first time that I can ever remember it actually gave me a stomachache.  It turns out that when you change your habits for some time and then fall back, you pay a price.  I indulged in my old habits for one evening and I paid the price.  Today I was more than happy to go back to a lean turkey lunch with lettuce, green pepper, and cucumber.  I don’t feel as heavy as I did last night and I do not have a stomachache.   I am mad at myself for slipping and giving into some old habits.  I really didn’t want the junk food it was more of because it was there and so was I.

I vow from this day forward to be stronger than the temptation of sweets.  It is so easy to indulge, especially with the holiday’s right around the corner.  I know that everywhere I go there will be homemade shortbreads, chocolate candies, cake, homemade pies and everything else you can imagine.  I vow to stay away from that because at the end of the day it makes me feel physically and mentally worse.  As long as I don’t do any mindless eating I should be great for the holiday season.  I promise myself no slipping anymore.

