Tags

, , ,

Hey everybody,

I just wanted to give you an update on the food plan.  Just to provide a little bit of a recap, I started the plan on October 1 when I started the three day cleanse.  If anybody has been on a cleanse before it is something everyone should try.  I was quick to realize that my body needed a good cleanse to get on track for the eating plan.  You never realize how out of sync your eating is until you actually get it on track.

At the beginning I was irritable due to giving up refined sugar and carbohydrates.  Don’t misunderstand me, I didn’t have to give up carbs completely but I use to eat them consistently and this was a major change.  For the last twenty six days I have spent most mornings eating a bran cereal with fruit, which is a great way to start the day.

I eat significantly more vegetables and fruit then I ever did in the past.  As a matter of fact there are days now where I actually crave salad, green or red pepper, cucumber, cauliflower, etc.  Most of the time I eat these vegetables raw instead of cooked.  This is not due to any choice of a raw vegetable eating plan, it just tends to be the way I prefer them.

I find myself enjoying yogurt now, which is a big change.  If you new me before I never went anywhere near yogurt.  I didn’t like the seven thousand kinds that are available at the grocery store and I also avoided frozen yogurt that so many people like.  Now I tend to eat yogurt as a snack during the day.  I typically eat DANONE yogurt, fat free with pro biotic.

Another big change has been stopping the snacking in the evening.  I didn’t realize in the past how often I would grab something small to snack on in the evenings while watching TV or working.  Sometimes it might have been a handful of chips or it could have been jube jubes that hit the spot.  Now I spend my evening avoiding the food and keeping my body going with water.

I am proud to say that in the last twenty six days I have lost just over 20lbs.  I don’t expect to lose 20+ pounds every month but I am still shocked about the number.  I found that my body has adjusted well to the new eating plan and now craves the healthy food as it is learning new habits and creating a new palate.

The ongoing battle will be with my mind.  Even though I don’t physically crave the poor food choices I made before sometimes I mentally think I still want them.  When work or life tends to stress me out my mind begins to think that I should entertain some comfort food to make me feel better.  I imagine that this urge will also dull over time even if it doesn’t fully go away but right now it can still be a battle for me.

At the almost one month mark I am proud of the journey I have made so far.  I am surprised with the amount of weight loss and exactly how much more energy I have today then thirty days ago.  I encourage everyone to take their physical and mental health into their own hands, guide yourselves to the experts and build a better life.

