Tags

, ,

Diving in and learning to swim

I have never tried a cleanse of any kind before.  I use to think a good cleanse was eating taco bell after a night of drinking and the next day everything got cleaned out.  Wow, I couldn’t have been more wrong.  It’s funny because I am dedicated to this new eating plan and the cleanse but part of my mind doesn’t want change.  I imagine within each of us there is a part that never wants change as it is use to the everyday norm.  I would think that there is also part of me that is addicted to some of the bad food I would eat that is also telling the brain that change is bad.  Either way I have been moving forward.

 

Breakfast is normal

One of the first things I notice about the eating plan, including the cleanse phase is breakfast.  It requires a bran cereal, fruit, and water.  I found out a long time ago that a good bran cereal looks horrible and unappetizing but I actually like it.  On top of that I enjoy a good piece of fruit in the morning.  Sometimes I will chop up a banana and put it on the cereal or after my breakfast I will have an apple on my way to work.  I also drink a lot of water already.

 

The Soup

The largest part of the cleanse is having a soup that has been designed to help clean out the body.  It contains a lot of vegetables, some different spices, onions, etc.  It does not have any meat in it during the cleanse.  I must admit that I didn’t think I would like the soup because I am a pretty picky eater.  Overall it is not bad and I could see eating it later maybe just adding a bit of chicken to the soup and I guess that may make it a stew.   The only other item of the soup I would change is the black pepper.  I know that a lot of people like black pepper but for me, a strong vinegar makes me sweat like crazy so black pepper is like hot sauce.

 

The Challenges

There is nothing like being in the middle of a cleanse and somebody in your household decides to put a Delicissio Pizza in the stove for lunch.  Wow, if you read my prior post, I have a healthy appetite for pizza.  I will admit that I was able to refrain from eating the pizza, stayed with my soup and hours later I am happy for it.

I will be sure to keep blogging and let everyone know what I am thinking and feeling during this cleanse.

P.S.  If you ask my wife I am probably pretty cranky during this cleanse.

 

 

 

