Tags

, ,

Hmmm, I’m not sure where to start this post.  I had RnY Gastric Bypass surgery over two years ago.  It was one of the hardest decisions that I had to make in my life and so far it has been great.  The surgery was completed in the US at a top notch hospital with excellent care.  I lost around 100 pounds and have kept it off.  I won’t lie I have put less than 20 pounds back on but it is beginning to scare me.  It’s the mental aspect of competing with food that I fight against.  I have found that I am an emotional eater that uses food to celebrate, console, fill in boredom, feed excitement and enjoy any other time that seems appropriate.

I will be using some of this blog to write when I am fighting the urge to eat.  I find most times I am not physically hungry and other times I am eating without even thinking about it.  The worst time is when I eat what I shouldn’t have and then have the guilt afterwards.  You promise to yourself that you are not going to do it again but when eating becomes unconscious it is a problem.

My goal is to lose the 20 pounds I put on and take off another 40 on top of that then re-evaluate.  The biggest benefit is that I do not have to take any medication anymore for health issues related to my weight.  I want to keep it this way.

If you are thinking about Gastric Bypass or just want to discuss the mental struggle with food then please feel free to leave a comment or email me.

Cheers,

